TSM Leadership Awards

A TSM Leadership Award is granted only when a facility meets or exceeds a Level A ranking in its results across all six Towards Sustainable Mining protocols, satisfies the criteria for crisis management planning, and confirms that there is no child or forced labour at its operations. A facility’s TSM results must be externally verified to be eligible for this recognition.

TSM Leadership Award Winners 2019

  • Hudbay Minerals, Hudson Bay Mining and Smelting Co. Limited
  • New Gold, New Afton Mine
  • Teck, Highland Valley Copper
  • Teck, Elkview Operations
  • Vale, Newfoundland and Labrador Operations – Voisey’s Bay
  • Vale, Ontario Operations – Sudbury

TSM Leadership Award Winners 2018

  • Agnico Eagle, La India
  • Agnico Eagle, Goldex
  • Agnico Eagle, Kittila
  • Agnico Eagle, Meadowbank
  • Agnico Eagle, Pinos Altos
  • Agnico Eagle, LaRonde
  • Dominion Diamond Mines, Ekati Diamond Mine
  • IAMGOLD, Essakane

TSM Leadership Award Winners 2017

  • Glencore, Raglan Mine
  • Glencore, Brunswick Smelter
  • Glencore, Kidd Operations
  • New Gold, Cerro San Pedro Mine
  • Rio Tinto, Diavik Diamond Mine
  • Syncrude Canada, Oil Sands Operations
  • Teck Resources Limited, Cardinal River Operations
  • Teck Resources Limited, Greenhills Operations
  • Teck Resources Limited, Trail Smelter

TSM Leadership Award Winners 2016

  • Hudbay Minerals Inc., Hudson Bay Mining and Smelting Co.
  • New Gold Inc., New Afton Mine
  • Suncor Energy Inc., Oil sands facility
  • Teck Resources Limited, Elkview Operations
  • Teck Resources Limited, Highland Valley Copper
  • Vale Newfoundland and Labrador Limited, Voisey’s Bay Mine

TSM Leadership Award Winners 2015

  • Agnico Eagle Mines Limited – Goldex mine
  • Agnico Eagle Mines Limited, Kittila mine
  • Agnico Eagle Mines Limited, LaRonde mine
  • First Quantum Minerals Ltd., Çayeli mine
  • IAMGOLD Corporation, Essakane Gold Mine
  • IAMGOLD Corporation, Rosebel Gold Mines N.V.
  • IAMGOLD Corporation, Westwood Mine
  • Teck Resources Limited, Line Creek Operations

TSM Leadership Award Winners 2014

  • Glencore Nickel – Sudbury Integrated Nickel Operations
  • Teck Resources Limited, Cardinal River Operations
  • Teck Resources Limited, Teck Trail Operations

TSM Leadership Award Winner 2013

  • Teck Resources Limited, Elkview Operations

TSM Leadership Award Winner 2011

  • Barrick Gold Corporation, Hemlo Mine

“We are pleased to recognize the TSM Leadership Award winners, which is an important and rare distinction that celebrates a facility for its achievements in the TSM initiative. These facilities have demonstrated leadership in environmental management and for how they engage with their communities, and we congratulate them for being a model for other mine sites across Canada.”

– Pierre Gratton, President and CEO, the Mining Association of Canada

Subscribe to MAC News


*Indicates a required field

You can unsubscribe from these communications at any time. For more information on how to unsubscribe, our privacy practices, and how we are committed to protecting and respecting your privacy, please review our Privacy Policy.

By clicking submit, you consent to allow The Mining Association of Canada to store and process the personal information submitted above to provide you the content requested.